top of page

Rainy Tofino Weekend

Tofino, the best surf destination on Vancouver Island! I booked our trip to Tofino a couple of months ago, to celebrate mine and my Hubby's first wedding anniversary and had been looking forward to it every day. When the weekend finally came we left early on Saturday morning to start the 4 hour drive Up Island to Tofino. I'm not going to lie when I say I was a little disappointed with the weather forecast being rain alllllll weekend! I kept getting told "oh but Tofino has great storm watching" Thats great but I also prefer to drink my cocktails in the sunshine.... But it isn't called the "Wet Coast" for nothing, the weather man sure got it right... it poured all weekend long! Despite the rain, we still had a great time, when there was a short break in the rain we got down to the beach, which our cabins were situated only a few metres from, we explored the town, drove to Ucluelet (next time we go I plan to hike the Wild Pacific Coast Trail) and spent time eating and drinking at some of the local bars and restaurants. If your ever travelling to Tofino and aren't a big lover of the rain, I think May- Aug would be a safer option, next time we go will be in the summer and I plan to visit the Hot Springs as well! Highly recommend visiting Schooner Restaurant for Breakfast! Their "Alley way eggs" and "Tostados" are AMAZZZZINNNNGGG We also visited Tofino Brewing Company, they have a great selection of craft beers and its the perfect spot to get out of the rain for a relaxed beer or two! Wolf in the Fog Restaurant was a winner for their delicious cocktails, and appetisers... Definitely the yummiest Whiskey Sour ive had in a longgggg time! Oh and of course, make sure you visit the original "Tacofino".... We love our Tacofino down here in Victoria.... Crispy Chicken Burritos and the Fish Taco's are always a winner for me!!! Tofino sure is beautiful, and the drive from Victoria was amazing! The scenery is picture perfect and on the way back, we even drove through snow! (I guess Winter is hanging on as long as possible) It wasn't as much of a Photography/ Outdoor Weekend as I had hoped, but I think in spite of the weather, I still captured a few gems and lots of fun was had in the process (climbing on sharp rocks at sunset after a few coctails to catch the sunset is definitely a "dont try this at home" type of activity) Have you been to Tofino? Whats an absolute must do for next time we visit?

bottom of page